UP Mindanao History

The University of the Philippines Mindanao was established by the Republic Act 7889, signed into law by President Fidel V. Ramos on February 20, 1995. In June 1996, the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) and the School of Management were established. After a year, the CAS was divided into the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) and the College of Science and Mathematics (CSM), while the School of Management was retained. The College of Science and Mathematics was created on July 1, 1997 by virtue of the Board of Regents’ approval of a proposal by Dean Rogelio V. Cuyno.


The Board of Regents granted full autonomy to UP Mindanao on February 26, 1998, making it the sixth constituent unit of the UP System. Dean Rogelio V. Cuyno was elevated and installed as its First Chancellor on December 11 of the same year.